You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Canberra Raiders have finalised their team line-up for the club’s first trial match of the year against the Melbourne Storm this Saturday at AAMI Park. Kick off for the trial has been put back to 6:30pm due to the likelihood of the heat.

Raiders Coach Ricky Stuart has elected to combine a mix of exciting youngsters and seasoned campaigners for the trial.

Emerging talents that have graduated from the NYC such as Jack Ahearn, Jeremy Hawkins, Brenko Lee and Jeff Lynch will feature in the trial along with current NYC stars Luke Bateman, Andrew Heffernan and Tevita Pangai Junior, after the trio trained with the top squad over the pre-season.

Many eyes will centre on the new-look scrum base combination of Jack Wighton and Mitch Cornish. The duo are highly promising prospects and now have their chance to not only reunite their NYC combination, but push their case for a permanent spot in the top grade.

Cornish and Wighton will be aided by the selection of the experienced Josh McCrone at hooker.

Raiders fans will also be anticipating the form of new recruit Lagi Setu who faces will his old side. Setu will start in the second-row and look to impress Stuart by displaying his dominance over the likes of Kevin Proctor and Tohu Harris.

Another interesting aspect of the trial will be Jarrad Kennedy coming up against his younger brother Rhys. Knowing his competitive nature, Jarrad will be doing all he can to retain the household bragging rights.

Here is how both teams will line-up for the trial:

Canberra Raiders

1. Reece Robinson
2. Mosese Pangai
3. Bill Tupou
4. Matt Allwood
5. Jeremy Hawkins
6. Jack Wighton
7. Mitch Cornish
8. David Shillington
9. Josh McCrone
10. Dane Tilse
11. Jarrad Kennedy
12. Lagi Setu
13. Joel Edwards

14. Matt McIlwrick
15. Jake Foster
16. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs
17. Shannon Boyd
18. Sam Mataora
19. Mitch Cronin
20. Andrew Heffernan
21. Jordan Rapana
22. Luke Bateman
4. Brenko Lee
6. Jack Ahearn
15. Jeff Lynch
10. Mark Nicholls
11. Patrick Mago
12. Tevita Pangai

Melbourne Storm

1. Cameron Munster
2. Young Tonumaipea
3. Justin O’Neill
4. Mahe Fonua
5. Matt Duffie
6. Ben Hampton
7. Cody Walker
8. Jordan McLean
9. Joel Romelo
10. George Rose
11. Tohu Harris
12. Kevin Proctor
13. Mitch Garbutt

14. Dayne Weston
15. Slade Griffin
16. Ben Roberts
17. Kurt Mann
18. Matt Lodge
19. Felise Kaufusi
20. Richie Kennar
21. Hymel Hunt
22. Christian Welch
23. Rhys Kennedy
24. Niua Finua Puaka
25. Tremaine Jensen

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.