You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Canberra Raiders Holden Cup five-eighth Lachlan Lewis has continued to receive accolades for his outstanding work on and off the field, with the 19 year old awarded the NYC Education Player of the Year Award at the 2015 RLPA Awards staged at Sydney’s Dolton House.

After arriving in the Nation’s Capital from Brisbane in 2014 Lewis quickly made a name for himself on the field with his silky skills and instinctive attacking ability.

Initially starting off in the SG Ball at the beginning of last year, Lewis has now progressed through to being one of the leaders of the club’s Holden Cup side which was just last week knocked out of the semi-finals by the Wests Tigers.

Along the way he has also represented Queensland at an Under 16 and Under 18 level.

Off the field he has been just as impressive.

The NRL employ’s a policy in the National Youth Competition (Under 20’s) whereby players are not able to take the field unless they are studying or working away from the field. This is to ensure that the young players are furthering themselves in all aspects of life because the fact is that many players in the Holden Cup will not graduate through to first grade.

With the support of the Raiders, Lewis is setting himself up off the field, just as well as he is setting up tries for his team mates on the field.

“It’s my second year of studying a Bachelor of Engineering at  ANU (Australian National University) and I’m really enjoying it,” Lewis said.

“Studying whilst playing rugby league is giving me a good balance in life and the Raiders have been really supportive in both aspects.

“The academic side of life is crucial because as much as I love rugby league, it doesn’t last forever and you need something to fall back on.”

In addition to his NYC Education Player of the Year Award at the 2015 RLPA Awards Lewis was also awarded the Geoff Caldwell Memorial Award for Education and Welfare at the 2015 Meninga Medal.

CLICK HERE to see what Lewis had to say after receiving the award at the Meninga Medal.

Below is the list of winners of the 2015 RLPA Awards:

  • RLPA Players' Player Medal - Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • RLPA Rookie of the Year - Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
  • RLPA NYC Player of the Year - Viliame Kikau (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • RLPA Dennis Tutty Award – Tom Symonds
  • One Solutions Australian Representative Player of the Year - Corey Parker
  • One Solutions  New Zealand Representative Player of the Year - Shaun Johnson
  • One Solutions Rest of the World Representative Player of the Year - Josh McGuire – Samoa
  • RLPA Milestone Awards (300 Games) – Corey Parker, Cameron Smith Anthony Watmough.
  • RLPA Origin Gold Club presented by Seiko – Danny Buderus, Billy Moore, Corey Parker, Wayne Pearce, Steve Roach.
  • RLPA NRL Trade Player of the Year - Sam Moa (Roosters)
  • RLPA NYC Trade Player of the Year - Bradie Smith (Knights)
  • RLPA NRL Education Player of the Year -  David Gower (Eels) and Siliva Havili (Warriors)
  • RLPA NYC Education Player of the Year - Tyrell Fuimaono (Eels) and Lachlan Lewis (Raiders)
  • RLPA NRL Welfare Club of the Year - Melbourne Storm
  • RLPA NRL Education Club of the Year - Parramatta Eels.
Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.