You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition -  NRL Premiership.
Round - Round 26
Date  -   September 4th 2016.
Teams - Wests Tigers v Canberra Raiders.
at - AAMI Park Melbourne.
Pic - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos.

Five rookies have been named in the NZ Kiwis squad to take on Australia in Perth next week and the subsequent Four Nations tournament.

In his first selection as Kiwis head coach, David Kidwell has named NZ Warriors backs David Fusitu’a and Solomone Kata, promising five-eighth Te Maire Martin, Canberra second row Joseph Tapine and in-form Raiders team-mate Jordan Rapana.

If selected to play on tour, one of them has the opportunity to become Kiwi #800.

“All of these players have shown exciting form during the NRL season and have certainly earned their selection on merit,” says Kidwell.

“But we’re always looking one step ahead, whether that’s to next year’s World Cup or beyond, and we also think all these players can play a big part in keeping the Kiwis on top for many years to come.

“In picking this team, we’ve tried to achieve a balance between players who are proven at test level and those that are the future of the Kiwis programme. Injuries play an unfortunate part in our game and some of these newcomers will get an immediate opportunity to show they’re ready for the next level.”

Kiwis regulars unavailable for the up-coming campaign include Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Peta Hiku, Dean Whare, Kieran Foran, Ben Matulino, Alex Glenn and Kodi Nikorima.

Kidwell has also opted to retain Melbourne Storm prop Jesse Bromwich (Kiwi #775) as his captain, continuing the role he filled against Australia at Newcastle in May. Long-serving skipper Simon Mannering (Kiwi #731) is also in the group.

“Jesse did a great job leading the team earlier this year in Simon’s absence and, at this stage of his career, I think Simon is just as happy not having the weight of captaincy on him,” says Kidwell.

“But, ultimately, they will both be part of a strong leadership group that set a strong culture for this team.”

The Kiwis squad will assemble in Perth over next weekend for the test against Australia on October 15.

They open their Four Nations account against hosts England on Sunday, October 30 (NZ time) at Huddersfield, followed by Australia (November 6) and Scotland (November 12).

The 24-man NZ Kiwis squad is:



Kiwi No.


Gerard Beale  

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks  



Adam Blair

Brisbane Broncos



Jesse Bromwich   

Melbourne Storm



Lewis Brown

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles   



Greg Eastwood

Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs



David Fusitu'a

NZ Warriors


Tohu Harris

Melbourne Storm



Shaun Johnson

NZ Warriors



Jordan Kahu

Brisbane Broncos



Solomone Kata

NZ Warriors


Shaun Kenny-Dowall

Sydney Roosters



Thomas Leuluai

NZ Warriors



Issac Luke

NZ Warriors



Simon Mannering

NZ Warriors



Te Maire Martin

Penrith Panthers



Manu Ma'u

Parramatta Eels



Jason Nightingale

St George Illawarra Dragons



Kevin Proctor

Melbourne Storm



Jordan Rapana

Canberra Raiders



Joseph Tapine

Canberra Raiders



Jason Taumalolo

North Queensland Cowboys



Martin Taupau

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles



Jared Waerea-Hargreaves  

Sydney Roosters



Dallin Watene-Zelezniak

Penrith Panthers


Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.