You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup Preliminary Final Wrap

Tuggeranong Bushrangers 22 (Tries: A Tupou, L Tuicakau, J Mitchell; Goals: J Mitchell 5) d West Belconnen Warriors 0

The Tuggeranong Bushrangers have made their first Grand Final since 2007 after defeating the West Belconnen Warriors 22-0 at Seiffert Oval.

The Bushrangers dominated the early stages but struggled to find a way past the Warriors.

Tuggeranong finally broke the deadlock after 24 minutes as skipper Josh Mitchell opted to take the two points.

West Belconnen fought their way back into the contest but Tuggeranong furthered their lead just before the break at Atu Tupou was first to react to Mitchell's reflected grubber kick.

The Bushrangers were dealt a blow in the opening stages of the second half as David Faaeteete was taken from the field with an injury to his right leg.

However, the minor premiers weren't deterred as Livanai Tuicakau leapt highest to gather a Michael Picker cross field kick to make the score 16-0.

Josh Mitchell sealed the result when he caught the West Belconnen markers napping and scored from dummy half.

The result means that there will be a first time winner of the Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup as Tuggeranong will face the Woden Valley Rams next Sunday.

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.