You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
CNK caps stunning 2019 rise as one of four Kiwi Test rookies

Rising Raiders star Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad has capped an incredible nine-month turnaround from Warriors outcast to potential Kiwi debutant as one of four fresh faces in New Zealand's end of season Test squad.

Nicoll-Klokstad, Braden Hamlin-Uele, Corey Harawira-Naera and Zane Tetevano have been included in Michael Maguire's 22-man squad for upcoming clashes against Australia and Great Britain.

CNK has also been granted a late call-up to the Kiwi squad for the Nines after Jordan Rapana withdrew on Thursday.

The withdrawal of skipper Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and veteran prop Jesse Bromwich due to injury from the Test squad is expected to result in fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck captaining his country for the first time.

Tuivasa-Sheck, along with veteran halves Benji Marshall and Shaun Johnson, will once again steer the side in the October 25 Test against the Kangaroos in Wollongong, with two clashes against the touring Lions in Auckland (November 2) and Christchurch (November 9) to follow.

Nicoll-Klokstad's rise to Kiwi Test honours continues a stunning 2019 campaign for the Canberra recruit, who was given permission to leave the Warriors in February after spending 12 months in reserve grade.

The 24-year-old fullback turned his initial bargain basement Raiders deal into a truly breakout season, playing in their heartbreaking grand final loss to the Roosters alongside fellow New Zealand Test selections Jordan Rapana and Joe Tapine.

Roosters prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves.
Roosters prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

However, Tapine will sit out the trans-Tasman Test against Australia due to his one-game suspension for a high shot on Roosters lock Victor Radley.

Premiership winners Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Isaac Liu, Joey Manu and Tetevano return to the national fold as well, with Tetevano once more in line for a Test debut after acting as 18th man in both the Roosters' grand final triumph and New Zealand's defeat of Tonga in June.

The withdrawal of Penrith's James Fisher-Harris led to Tetevano's call-up for both the World Cup Nines and end-of-season Tests, while Esan Marsters was also unavailable.

Veteran Gold Coast back-rower Kevin Proctor returns as well after a fractured eye-socket ruled him out of the mid-year rep round fixture.

Broncos flyer Jamayne Isaako is also back in Kiwi colours and in line to replace Watene-Zelezniak on the wing.

He chose to represent Samoa during this year's rep round to honour his father, who was diagnosed with brain cancer.

New Zealand's Kiwi Ferns will also square off against Australia in Wollongong on October 25 with decorated veteran Honey Hireme again on deck.

Honey Hireme scores a try for New Zealand in 2017 World Cup final loss to Australia.
Honey Hireme scores a try for New Zealand in 2017 World Cup final loss to Australia. ©NRL Photos

Hireme sat out the Warriors' NRLW season to be by her mother Caryn's side when she was diagnosed with stomach cancer, sadly passing away two weeks ago.

The Kiwi Ferns will be led once more by Brisbane's premiership-winning playmakers Lavinia Gould and Raecene McGregor, while 13 of Justin Morgan's 19-player squad will be drawn from the Warrior ranks.

New Zealand Test squads


  • Leeson Ah Mau (NZ Warriors)
  • Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm)
  • Kenneath Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
  • Kieran Foran (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Braden Hamlin-Uele (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
  • Corey Harawira-Naera (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Jahrome Hughes (Melbourne Storm)
  • Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Shaun Johnson (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
  • Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters)
  • Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)
  • Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)
  • Ken Maumalo (NZ Warriors)
  • Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Canberra Raiders)
  • Briton Nikora (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
  • Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)
  • Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm)
  • Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders)
  • Zane Tetevano (Sydney Roosters)
  • Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (NZ Warriors)
  • Jared Waerea Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters)

Kiwi Ferns

  • Billy Jean Ale (NZ Warriors)
  • Madison Bartlett (NZ Warriors)
  • Teuila Foru-Moala (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Georgia Hale (NZ Warriors)
  • Lavinia Gould (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Amber-Paris Hall (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Honey Hireme (NZ Warriors)
  • Onjeurlina Leiataua (NZ Warriors)
  • Nita Maynard (Sydney Roosters)
  • Raecene McGregor (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Jules Newman (NZ Warriors)
  • Apii Nicholls (NZ Warriors)
  • Annetta Nuuausala (NZ Warriors)
  • Charntay Poko (NZ Warriors)
  • Krystal Rota (NZ Warriors)
  • Aieshaleigh Smalley (NZ Warriors)
  • Kiana Takairangi (Sydney Roosters)
  • Crystal Tamarua (NZ Warriors)
  • Atawhai Tupaea (NZ Warriors)


Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.