You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Raiders Nominated for CBR Sport Awards

The Canberra Raiders have received multiple nominations for the 2019 CBR Sport Awards.

Finalists for this years awards were announced today at an event at the Canberra Glassworks, with the Raiders and CRRL receiving multiple nominations. 

The Raiders have been nominated for team of the year for their feats in reaching the 2019 NRL Grand Final, with Josh Papalii nominated as Male athlete of the year. 

Sia Soliola is also a finalist in the People's Sporting Champion award category, with the SCORE Raiders program also receiving a nomination for the Inclusiveness award. 

The finalists are represented across 14 different sports and demonstrate a great passion and drive for their sport. More importantly, the finalists have contributed significantly to Canberra’s local sporting community and make a great impact, not just in Canberra, but nationally and internationally.

Each year, winners receive a unique handmade trophy made at the Canberra Glassworks by local glassmaker Annette Blair. Recognising that 2019 is the United Nations International Year of Indigenous Languages, the trophies will now include a recognition of Country in Ngunnawal language.

The winners in each category will be announced at the Gala event held at the National Arboretum on 29 November 2019. The finalists are:

Team of the Year

  • ACT Brumbies
  • Canberra Capitals
  • Canberra Raiders

Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport

  • Christian Lealiifano (Rugby Union)
  • Nathan Lyon (Cricket)
  • Josh Papalii  (Rugby League)

Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport

  • Kelsey-Lee Barber (Athletics)
  • Rebecca McConnell (Cross Country Mountain Bike)
  • Laura Peel (Snowsports)

Athlete of the Year – Para Sport

  • Annabelle Lindsay (Basketball)
  • Kathryn Ross (Rowing)
  • Emily Tapp (Triathlon)

Rising Star

  • Kye A’Hern (Downhill Mountain Bike)
  • Isabelle Bourne (Basketball)
  • Zoe Cuthbert (Cross Country Mountain Bike)
  • Karly Roestbakken (Football)
  • Nicholas Taylor (Water Polo)

Outstanding Service to Sport

  • David Bagnall (Rowing)
  • Peter Boden (Athletics)
  • Brian Golledge (Football)
  • Marie Hart (Cricket)
  • John Skene (Swimming)
Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.