You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image Grant Trouville  © : NYC : NRL Rugby League Round 24 - Cronulla Sharks v Canberra Raiders at Remondis Stadium Sunday the 24th of August 2014.

Jarrod Croker has capped off an outstanding year at NRL level, by being named the Canberra Raiders Captain for the 2015 season.

A Goulburn Junior, Croker made his debut for the Raiders in 2009 and has played 140 matches for the club, scoring 892 points in his six seasons in the NRL squad. 

The 2014 season was hailed as Croker’s best for the club, culminating when he won the Meninga Medal for the Raiders players’ player for the NRL squad.

Croker said the announcement today was a great honour and he looked forward to taking the opportunity with both hands.

“This tops the list for me in my career so far, I’m extremely proud and honoured to be named Captain of the club,” Croker said. “I’ve been here for six years in first grade and I want to be here for six or more years. I believe the club is growing and heading in the right direction and I want to be a part of that.”

Raiders Coach Ricky Stuart said Croker joins a long line of prestigious Raiders Captains and said he had the utmost confidence in him to handle the role.

“Jarrod joins the likes of Mal Meninga, Dean Lance and Laurie Daley as Captains who have led this great club,” Stuart said. “He will not be alone and he’ll have all of my and the senior playing groups support as he works his way into the role.”

Croker follows a prestigious line of Raiders skippers, including the likes of Mal Meninga, Laurie Daley, Ricky Stuart and inaugural Captain David Grant.

Croker takes over the Captaincy from Terry Campese, who was recently released by the Raiders to take up a deal with Hull KR in the English Super League.

Canberra Raiders Captains

1982: David Grant

1983: Alan McMahon

1984-1985: Ron Giteau

1985-1989: Dean Lance

1989-1994: Mal Meninga

1995-1997: Ricky Stuart

1998-2000: Laurie Daley

2001-2005: Simon Woolford

2006: Clinton Schifcofske

2007-2011: Alan Tongue

2012-2014: Terry Campese

2015: Jarrod Croker

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.