You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

In one of the closest ever finishes in the competitions history, Queanbeyan Kangaroos star Jack Miller has won the Les McIntyre Medal for the best and fairest player in the 2015 TTM Canberra Raiders Cup.

Miller narrowly edged away from a six way tie in the final round of the competition, when he picked up three votes for a man of the match performance against the Woden Valley Rams.

After round 13 of the competition Miller was joined by Dwayne Connors (Gungahlin Bulls), Marc Herbert (Queanbeyan Blues), Brad Martin (Woden Valley Rams) and Ryan McQueen on 10 votes, with Ben Picker then picking up three votes to take him to 10 votes in the final round and a six way tie for the lead.

Miller’s performance against the Warriors proved the difference, as his three votes took him to 13 making him the outright winner of the annual award voted on by referees each match of each week.

The Gunghalin Bulls Nathan Corby won his second straight Leedon Shield for the best and fairest player in reserve grade, while Bayley Graham  (West Belconnen)won the David Sharpe Award for the best and fairest player in the first division of the under 18’s competition.

Steven Cummins from the Crookwell Green Devils was awarded the best and fairest award for the division two under 18’s, Teagan Pateman (Bungendore Tigerettes) picked up the best and fairest in the women’s league tag, while Jamie Boothman won the best and fairest for the George Tooke Shield.

Goulburn Stockman Junior Lachlan Croker won the Don Elphick Medal for the rookie of the year, awarded to a player from the local competitions who has gone on to represent the Canberra Raiders from the region.

Queanbeyan Blues were awarded the club championship.

2015 Les McIntyre Medal Award Winners

First Grade

Les McIntyre Medal (Best and Fairest):  Jack Miller (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
Top Point scorer: Craig Wilkinson (Queanbeyan Blues)
Top Try Scorer: Tom Ruediger (Queanbeyan Blues)

Reserve Grade

Leedon Shield (Best and Fairest): Nathan Corby (Gungahlin Bulls)
Top Point scorer: Robert Sheffield (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)
Top Try Scorer: Patrick Cooke (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)

Women’s League Tag

Best and Fairest: Teagan Pateman (Bungendore Tigers)
Top Point scorer: Teagan Pateman (Bungendore Tigers)
Top Try scorer: Teagan Pateman (Bungendore Tigers)

Under 18’s Division 1

David Sharpe Award (Best and Fairest): Bayley Graham (West Belconnen Warriors)
Top Point scorer: Jackson McDonald (Woden Valley Rams)
Top Try scorer: Anthony McQueen (Woden Valley Rams)

Under 18’s Division 2

Best and Fairest: Steven Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)
Top Point scorer: Steven Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)
Top Try scorer: Steven Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)

George Tooke Shield

Best and Fairest: Jamie Boothman (Crookwell Green Devils)
Top Point scorer: Ben Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)
Top Try scorer: Ben Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)

Don Elphick Medal (Rookie of the year)

Lachlan Croker

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.