You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The 2016 Downer Auckland Nines will return for its third edition this weekend at Eden Park in Auckland. All 16 NRL clubs will compete in the two-day, nine-a-side tournament for a share of $2.6 million dollars in prizemoney.

The 16 teams are divided into four pools, with the top two from each pool going through to the quarter-finals. The Raiders will be hoping to make the finals for the first time and will face off against the Titans, Dragons and Sharks in Pool D. 

When are the Raiders playing?

Pool D (Piha)

Day 1, Saturday February 6 – Canberra Raiders v St George Illawarra Dragons 1.10pm (Canberra time)
Day 1, Saturday February 6 – Canberra Raiders v Gold Coast Titans 5.30pm (Canberra time)
Day 2, Sunday February 7 – Canberra Raiders v Cronulla Sharks 11.30am (Canberra time)

CLICK HERE for the full Auckland Nines schedule.

How can I watch the Raiders? 

Australia - Live on Fox Sports Channel 501 and the NRL digital pass. Live commentry available from Triple M.
New Zealand - Live on Sky Sports.
PNG/Pacific region (including Tonga) - Digicel
Fiji - Fiji TV
UK - Premiership Sports
US - via Livestream

Canberra Raiders Auckland Nines Squad

1 Jordan  Rapana
2 Kato Ottio 
3 Jarrod Croker ©
4 Brenko  Lee
5 Sisa Waqa
6 Lachlan Croker
7 Sam Williams
8 Shannon Boyd
9 Kurt Baptiste
10 Paul Vaughan
11 Jason  Croker 
12 Jarrad Kennedy
13 Luke Bateman
14 Thomas Cronan
15 Chevi Ellis*
16 Jack  Williams
17 Zac Santo 
18 Rhys Kennedy 

*Chevi Ellis has replaced Mitch Barnett. 

What are the rules for the Nines tournament?


Each match shall consist of two equal halves of nine minutes.

A total of five interchange players may be used on an unlimited interchange basis throughout the match.


All scrums shall be formed with a maximum of five players from each team (three players in the front row and two in the second row). 


A try shall count for four points except for those tries scored in a defined area known as the ‘Bonus Zone’ which will be worth five points. The ‘Bonus Zone’ is a marked box located in the in-goal area at each end of the field.

Scoring teams will have up to 25 seconds to complete a conversion after a try, as indicated by a Shot-Clock at the stadium that will be visible to both teams.

All penalty kicks at goal shall be taken by way of a drop kick from the point at which the penalty is awarded and will be worth two points. 

A field goal in general play shall be awarded as one point.


All kick offs to re-start play, other than for the start of each half, shall be taken by way of drop-kick and must travel 10 metres in a forward direction.

Tackle Count - Five tackles

A team in possession of the football shall be allowed four successive play the balls. 

Competition Points

Win: 2 points

Draw: 1 point

Loss: 0 points

Extra Time - Golden Try

If scores are level at the completion of a qualifying match, five minutes of 'Extra Time - Golden Try' will be played. The winner of the match shall be determined to be the team which scores the first try in this period of play. If no one scores, the match will be deemed a draw.

For all Finals’ matches (Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Final), the match will continue until a try is scored.

Stay tuned to the Canberra Raiders Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages for live updates, photos and videos from the tournament!

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.