You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Written by Alex Malyon

The launch of the 2016 Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup was held this morning at Raiders HQ. 

The opening round of the 2016 Canberra Raiders Cup kicks off this weekend with storylines aplenty.

The Queanbeyan Blues, the two-time defending premiers, will begin their 2016 title defence hosting the Gungahlin Bulls at Seiffert Oval. The Blues head into the new season without club stalwarts Marc Herbert, Ben Nicoll, Trevor Thurling, and Scott Rutland, who all retired following the dramatic 24-14 extra time win in last years’ Grand Final.

The team they beat in last year’s decider, the Goulburn Workers Bulldogs, will be looking to start 2016 with a bang as they host the Tuggeranong Bushrangers at Workers Arena.

The 2016 season will be a homecoming of sorts for the Yass Magpies as make a return to Canberra’s top grade for the first time since 2012 when they host the Woden Valley Rams at Walker Park.

Rounding out the round one line-up is the first local derby of the season with Belconnen United hosting West Belconnen. 

Round One

2.00pm Saturday 9th April, Goulburn Workers Arena - Goulburn Workers Bulldogs v Tuggeranong Bushrangers
3.00pm Saturday 9th April, O'Connor - Belconnen United Sharks v West Belconnen
3.00pm Saturday 9th April, Seiffert Oval - Queanbeyan United v Gungahlin Bulls
3.00pm Saturday 9th April, Walker Park - Yass Magpies v Woden Valley Rams
Queanbeyan Kangaroos - BYE

CLICK HERE for more information on the Austbrokers Canberra Raiders Cup.

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.