You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NYC Premiership Round. Round - Round 26. Teams - Wests Tigers v Canberra Raiders. Date - 4th of September 2016. Venue - Leichhardt Oval

The Canberra Raiders U20's will be looking to make a strong start to their season when they take on the North Queensland Cowboys on Saturday in Townsville. 

After a strong finish to the season last year, that saw them charge into the finals, the majority of the squad returns to the fold again this year.

Coached by Brett White, the Raiders possess a big and experienced forward pack. The backline, while not quite as experienced, is full of exciting potential, including Fijian flyer Kitione Vikash and young centre Seb Kris. 

Kalani Going will captain the team in his third season of playing NYC for the Raiders. Going missed most of 2016 with an ankle injury, but has displayed impressive form throughout pre-season and the Raiders trial matches.

The Cowboys finished second on the ladder last year and boast a very strong squad for Round 1.

Wonderkid Kalyn Ponga has been named in the Cowboys NYC and NRL teams, and he will be the man to watch if he does end up playing NYC. Ponga destroyed the Raiders at the recent Auckland Nines, showing that he can break a game open in an instant. 

Kick-off is at 4.45pm AEDT, 3.45pm AEST, on Saturday. The match is not televised. Brief updates will be on the Raiders Twitter

Team Lists

As of Tuesday, Feb 28

Canberra Raiders North Queensland Cowboys
1. Harry Van Dartel 1. Kalyn Ponga 
2. Matt Lyons 2. Michael Carroll 
3. Sebastian Kris 3. Enari Tuala 
4. Andre Niko 4. Bacho Salam 
5. Kitione Vikash 5. Nathan Traill 
6. Jayden Carroll 6. Mitch Dunn (c) 
7. Logan Spaander 7. Jake Clifford 
8. William Samuel 8. Kaleb Fuimaono
9. Jarred Tuite 9. Calum Gahan 
10. Zac Masters 10. Emry Pere 
11. Jack Murchie 11. Cody Maughan 
12. Kalani Going (C) 12. Hiale Roycroft 
13. Sione Afemui 13. Corey Horsburgh 
14. Sato Ketia-Opo 14. Reuben Cotter 
15. Kye Madden 15. Connor Luhan 
16. Emre Guler 16. Jayden Stephens 
17. Daniel Keir 17. Jack Lote 
18. Matthew Scott 18. Jack Glossop 
19. Connor Brebner 19. Sam Murphy 
20. Lachlan Cooper 20. Kurt Wiltshire 
21. Sam Finnegan 21. Ryan Lloyd 
22. Mikaele Ravalawa 22. Duarne Dempsey 
23. Komiti Tuilagi 23. Oscar Carter

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.