You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Austbrokers Canberra CRC Round 1 Wrap

Queanbeyan Blues 23 (Tries: J Wheeler, T Campese, L Manu, A Misios; Goals: T Campese 2, Z Patch; Field Goals: T Campese) d Yass Magpies 18 (Tries: J Toppin, S Davis, T Warner, J Collins; Goals: J Toppin)

The Queanbeyan Blues got their title defence off to a winning start with a scrappy 23-18 win over the Yass Magpies at GIO Stadium on Thursday night.

After getting out to an early lead, the Queanbeyan Blues looked set to claim a comfortable win. However, a scuffle in the second half saw five players sent off and changed the momentum of the match.

The Blues were 19 points ahead with 15 minutes remaining but Shaun Davis, Tom Warner and Jesse Collins all scored tries for Yass to set up a grandstand finish.

However, the Blues held on to claim the win in the opening match of the season.

Tuggeranong Bushrangers 34 (Tries: M Brophy 2, J Mitchell, B Murray, L Tuicakau, J Pollard; Goals: J Mitchell 5):  d Woden Valley Rams 18 (Tries: S Maloney, K Posantsiz, K Vaetoe; Goals: M Geiger 3)

The Tuggeranong Bushrangers claimed bragging rights in the south Canberra derby as they beat the Woden Valley Rams down in Greenway.

A double to Michael Brophy, who played only 2 matches last year due to injury, proved vital as the Bushrangers also welcomed Michael Picker to the side at halfback.

The Rams were in the contest for a majority of the game, as young five-eighth Sean Maloney scored a try as part of the side’s new halves pairing.

Goulburn Workers Bulldogs 30 (P Cooke 2, T Crome, F Paletua-Kiri, D Stephens, J Whittaker; Goals: J Fattore 3) d Belconnen United Sharks 24 (C McAskill 2, D Eason, B Sione; Goals: A McDonald 4)

The new look Goulburn Workers Bulldogs started their campaign win in a scrappy encounter with the Belconnen United Sharks.

Although there were a number of new players representing the Bulldogs, it was the more familiar faces who piled on the tries with Dom Stephens, Jake Whittaker and Pat Cooke all crossing the line.

The Sharks challenged the Bulldogs every step of the way and new co-captain Channon McAskill, led by example with two tries.

Queanbeyan Kangaroos 34 (Tries: L Ingram 2, J Ayers, J Hitchins, S Meke, J Dent; Goals: B Crisp 5) d Gungahlin Bulls 30 (Tries: S Bramich 2, J Fa’amoe Ioane, L Skidmore, B Wood; Goals: J Fa’amoe Ioane 2, J Scholes 3)

Last year’s runners-up, the Queanbeyan Kangaroos, narrowly defeated the Gungahlin Bulls in a tight encounter at Gungahlin Enclosed Oval.

With the retirement of Aaron Gorrell, Kangaroos’ junior Lochie Ingram was given his First Grade debut and scored two tries to mark the occasion.

Gungahlin however scored plenty of tries of their own as Sam Bramich also scored a double.

Despite, Gungahlin’s resistance the Kangaroos managed to claim the two points with a four point victory.