You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Canberra Raiders will have named six new faces in their opening 21-man squad of the season including two NRL rookies, for their opening match of the season against the Gold Coast Titans on Sunday evening.

Bailey Simonsson has been named on the wing for the Green Machine in round one, after Michael Oldfield picked up a groin injury at training at the end of last week.

Corey Horsburgh has been named to make his NRL debut from the interchange bench after a string of impressive performances in the club’s trial matches.

The Raiders have named English duo John Bateman and Ryan Sutton to make their club debuts, with Bateman named to start the match at lock and Sutton to come from the bench.

Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad has been named at fullback after also impressing during the club’s trial matches, with JJ Collins named on the extended bench.

Jack Wighton will partner Aidan Sezer in the halves, while Josh Hodgson will take to the field as NRL Captain alongside Jarrod Croker for the first time in a competition match.


1. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad
2. Nick Cotric
3. Jarrod Croker (C)
4. Joey Leilua
5. Bailey Simonsson
6. Jack Wighton
7. Aidan Sezer
8. Josh Papalii
9. Josh Hodgson (C)
10. Sia Soliola
11. Joe Tapine
12. Elliott Whitehead
13. John Bateman

14. Siliva Havili
15. Ryan Sutton
16. Dunamis Lui
17. Corey Horsburgh
18. Sam Williams
19. Jack Murchie
20. Luke Bateman
21. JJ Collins



Michael Oldfield (Groin) Indefinite

Jordan Rapana (Shoulder) Rd 10-12

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.