You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Mitchell Cornish Wins 2019 Les McIntyre Medal

Goulburn Workers Bulldogs five-eighth Mitchell Cornish has won the 2019 Les McIntyre Medal for the Best & Fairest Player in the Blumers Lawyers Canberra Raiders Cup.

The 26 year-old returned to his junior club this season after spending the last two years with the Sydney Roosters and has been rewarded for a season which has seen Goulburn return to finals football for the first time since 2015.

Tuggeranong Bushrangers hooker Josh Mitchell led the leaderboard entering the final round but didn’t poll any votes while Cornish was awarded all three.

In the Specsavers Katrina Fanning Shield, Yass Magpies halfback Hollie Massey was rewarded for an excellent season as she won the Maree Bush Medal by eight votes.

Elsewhere, Emma James from the Harden Hawkettes won an incredible third consecutive Best and Fairest Award in the George Tooke Shield Ladies League Tag.

Evan Bayliss won the Noel Bissett Trophy for Referee of the Year, while Valley Dragons junior Seb Kris won the Don Elphick Medal for his outstanding rookie season which saw him debut for the Canberra Raiders.

Full List of Award Winners

Blumers Lawyers Canberra Raiders Cup First Grade

Leading Try Scorer – Steven Cummins (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 19 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Chris Hart (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 184 points

Don Furner Senior Shield (Coach of the Year) – Jarrad Teka (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

Les McIntyre Medal (Best and Fairest) – Mitchell Cornish (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 21 points

Final Tally:

Mitchell Cornish (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 21 points

Josh Mitchell (Tuggeranong Bushrangers) 19 points

Tevita Aroha-Tuinauvai  (Belconnen United Sharks) 16 points

Nick Cornish (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 13 points

Brent Crisp* (West Belconnen Warriors) 12 points

Robert Roberts  (West Belconnen Warriors) 12 points

Lincoln Withers (Woden Valley Rams) 11 points

Josh Stuckey (Queanbeyan Blues) 11 points

Jake Wheeler (Queanbeyan Blues) 10 points

Blake Robinson (Gungahlin Bulls) 8 points

* Brent Crisp was not eligible for the award after being suspended

Blumers Lawyers Canberra Raiders Cup Reserve Grade

Leading Try Scorer – Dominic Stephens (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 17 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Jesse Lacey (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 158 points

Leedon Shield (Best and Fairest) – Chris Rawlinson (Yass Magpies) 20 points

Blumers Lawyers Under 19s

Leading Try Scorer – Mathew Parsons (Queanbeyan Blues) 13 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Max Flack (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 148 points

David Sharpe Award (Best and Fairest) – Max Flack (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs) 22 points

Specsavers CRC Ladies League Tag

Leading Try Scorer – Tijana Zdravevska (Yass Magpies) 17 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Sarah Carter (West Belconnen Warriors) 84 points

Coach of the Year – Matthew Worboys (Goulburn Workers Bulldogs)

Best and Fairest – Sarah Carter (West Belconnen Warriors) 21 points

Specsavers Katrina Fanning Shield

Leading Try Scorer – Madeline Burton (Boomanulla Buffaloes) 15 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Shannon Wright (Yass Magpies) & Hollie Massey (Yass Magpies) 74 points

Graham Willard Shield (Coaches of the Year) – Ric Emanuel & Mick Kociolek (Boomanulla Buffaloes)

Maree Bush Medal (Best and Fairest) – Hollie Massey (Yass Magpies) 22 points

Blumers Lawyers George Tooke Shield

Leading Try Scorer – Chris Thorley (North Canberra Bears) 15 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Zach Smith (Bungendore Tigers) 163 points

Coaches of the Year – Andrew Burns & Alex Stewart (Boorowa Rovers)

Gavin Miller Medal (Best and Fairest) – Chris Thorley (North Canberra Bears) 26 points

Specsavers GTS Ladies League Tag

Leading Try Scorer – Georgia Smith (Harden Hawkettes) 33 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Emma James (Harden Hawkettes) 216 points

Coach of the Year –  Craig Phillis (Binalong Jersey Girls)

Best and Fairest – Emma James (Harden Hawkettes) 31 points

Specsavers Under 18 Girls

Leading Try Scorer – Klaudia Osztrenkovics (Gungahlin Bulls) 21 tries

Leading Points Scorer – Krystal Blackwell (Goulburn) & Klaudia Osztrenkovics (Gungahlin Bulls) 84 points

Best and Fairest – Krystyana Haridemos (Gungahlin Bulls) 15 points

Other Awards

Noel Bissett Trophy (Outstanding Referee) – Evan Bayliss

Don Elphick Medal (Rookie of the Year) – Seb Kris

Hewson/Stonham Shield (Representative Player of the Year) – Josh Stuckey (Monaro U23's)

Canberra Raiders Cup Club Champions – Goulburn Workers Bulldogs

George Tooke Shield Club Champions – North Canberra Bears

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.