You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
North Canberra claim 2019 George Tooke Shield

The North Canberra Bears have won the George Tooke Shield Grand Final after defeating the Crookwell Green Devils 24-16 at Jamison Oval on Saturday.

A close first half turned harsh for Crookwell as doubles to Malcolm Timbery-Thorton and Trent Brown sealed the title for North Canberra.

The Green Devils got off to an early start with a try to Ben Cummins to give Crookwell a great start.

Crookwell’s lead did not last long after Malcolm Timbery-Thornton jumped on the Chris Thorley grubber to score the Bears their first try.

The Green Devils took the lead back after second-rower James Weir barrelled his way over the Bears defence to score the try.

A back and forth game between the two teams was changed after winger Trent Brown scored for North Canberra off another Thorley grubber.

Just before the halftime siren Kenny Brown dove into the corner to score the try, as the Bears went into the sheds with a 14-10 lead over the Green Devils.

The Bears came out of the sheds hard and fast with try within five minutes of the second half after Timbery-Thornton pushed his way over the try line to score his second for the day.

With North Canberra on the back of their heels defensively, Trent Brown intercepted the ball and ran the length of the field to score his second try.

Crookwell looked defeated but bounce back try to Dion Aramoana closed the deficit to eight points. But it wasn’t enough as North Canberra held on defensively to seal the game for them.

North Canberra Bears: 24 (Tries: M. Timbery-Thornton 2, T. Brown 2, K. Brown  Goals: Thorley 2/5) def Crookwell Green Devils: 16 (Tries: Weir, B. Cummins, D. Aramoana Goals: Aramoana 1/1, Walker 1/2)

Article by Nathan James