You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL congratulates Award Winners

NRL Chief Executive, Todd Greenberg has echoed congratulations from across the game to all winners announced at this evening's RLPA Players' Champion Awards.

Hosted annually, the awards honour the game's best players on and off the field, including naming and celebrating the NRL Academic Team of the Year, and the NRL's Indigenous and Pasifika Academic Award winners.

"This is a wonderful occasion to recognise our elite athletes and the hard work and effort they produce on and off the field, in front of millions of fans throughout the season," Mr Greenberg said.

"Our players are supported by a strong Association, celebrating its 40th year in 2019, and it's important to acknowledge the RLPA's success, along with some outstanding athletes and academics this evening."

Melbourne Storm player, Josh Addo-Carr received the NRL's Indigenous Academic Excellence Award, whilst Cronulla Sharks player, Jayson Bukuya won the NRL's Pasifika Academic Excellence Award.

A full list of the NRL Academic Team of the Year (including the player's studies) is below, with Wests Tigers player, Russell Packer taking home the Male Academic Player of the Year Award and Sydney Roosters player, Vanessa Foliaki awarded the Female Academic Player of the Year Award.

NRL Wellbeing & Education Manager, Paul Heptonstall confirmed that 87% of players are currently engaged in career development, with the number increasing.

"It's pleasing to see such a high number of players combining football with study or work," Mr Heptonstall said.

"Research confirms that players with a balanced life perform more consistently than those with a sole focus.

"The courses that our players undertake are varied and it's great to see so many of them enjoying their rugby league and studies together."

The 2019 RLPA & NRL Awards full list of winners are:

NRL Players' Champion: James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)

NRLW Players' Champion: Jessica Sergis (St George Illawarra Dragons)

The Dennis Tutty Award: David Gower (Parramatta Eels)

Rookie of the Year: Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)

The Players' 13 Dream Team:

  1. James Tedesco
  2. Maika Sivo
  3. Latrell Mitchell
  4. Will Hopoate
  5. Daniel Tupou
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans
  8. Payne Haas
  9. Cameron Smith
  10. Josh Papalii
  11. John Bateman
  12. Kenny Bromwich
  13. Jake Trbojevic

Male Academic Player of the Year: Russell Packer (Wests Tigers)

Female Academic Player of the Year: Vanessa Foliaki (Sydney Roosters)

Indigenous Academic Excellence Award: Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm)

Pasifika Academic Excellence Awards: Jayson Bukuya (Cronulla Sharks)

Academic Team of the Year:

Vanessa Foliaki (Currently completing a Bachelor of Psychology, Massey University)

Matthew Lodge (Completed a Diploma of Business and currently completing a Bachelor of Business, Swinburne University)

James Tamou (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry and Cert III & IV in fitness and completed small Business, EABS)

Will Hopoate (Completed a Diploma of Community Services and Cert IV in Community, Granville TAFE)

Brett Morris (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry and Completed cert iv in small business, Gymea TAFE)

Daniel Alvaro (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry, Meadowbank TAFE)

Toafofoa Sipley (Completed a Bachelor of Education in High School teaching, University of Auckland)

Jamie Buhrer (Currently completing a Bachelor in Sports Business Management, ACPE)

Coen Hess (Currently doing Master of Business Administration and completed a Diploma of Hospitality and Diploma of Business Management, CQU)

Chanel Harris-Tavita (Currently completing a Bachelor of Business, Auckland University of Technology)

Keegan Hipgrave (Currently completing a Bachelor of Business, QUT)

Russell Packer (Currently completing a Masters Business Administration, UNSW)

Robbie Rochow (Currently completing a Bachelor of Engineering, UNSW)

The NRL Players' Champion Honour Roll:

2019 James Tedesco

2018 Kalyn Ponga

2017 James Tedesco

2016 Jason Taumalolo

2015 Johnathan Thurston

2014 Johnathan Thurston

2013 Johnathan Thurston

2012 Ben Barba

2011 Akuila Uate

2010 Darius Boyd

2009 Jarryd Hayne

2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva

2007 Matt Bowen

2006 Ben Kennedy

2005 Johnathan Thurston

2004 Danny Buderus

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.