You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Soliola joins RLPA board

RLPA strengthened by appointment of new Player Directors

The Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) has today announced the addition of three Player Directors to its Board – with Daly Cherry-Evans, Sia Soliola and Dale Copley appointed as casual vacancies.

The trio have emerged through the RLPA’s Player Advisory Group (PAG) and Delegate structure, utilising the leadership pathways that are now in place to progress into Director roles within the Association.

Cherry-Evans and Copley will attend the inaugural RLPA Leaders in League conference from this Thursday, which will assist in further developing the current leaders within the playing group.

All three new additions have extensive experience in the game, with RLPA Chair Dr. Deidre Anderson confident they will each add value in their own unique way.

“To have the calibre of players such as Daly, Sia and Dale striving for greater involvement with the Association is a great sign for the future of the RLPA,” Dr Anderson said.

“All three individuals have already established themselves as leaders within the game and will add considerable value to the strategic direction of the Association.

“It’s important that we have strong and committed individuals like Daly, Sia and Dale in these roles who can properly represent their peers and help the Association continue to deliver on its Game Plan objectives.

“On behalf of the rest of the RLPA Board, I am pleased to formally welcome Daly, Sia and Dale as Directors.”

Cherry-Evans, who is captain of Queensland and the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, said he was eager to increase his involvement with the Association as a Director.

“A strong and respected Association is beneficial not only for players, but for the game as a whole,” Cherry-Evans said.

“Ensuring that the playing group continues to have a voice on the key issues, whilst also having access to adequate support, are some of the areas that I’m passionate about further advancing.

“In my view, the RLPA is in the strongest position it has ever been and I’m proud to be joining the Board.”
Soliola, who achieved success both on and off the field this year including receiving the Ken Stephen Medal for his outstanding community work and playing his 200th NRL match, said he looked forward to applying his knowledge in this role with the RLPA.

“I’ve been in the game for quite some time now and I think that I can give back to the collective by providing guidance and advice to the RLPA,” Soliola said.

“Joining the Board will be good for my professional development and hopefully I can also help the RLPA continue to grow in coming years.

“It’s important that we develop a respectful partnership between the RLPA and the NRL, as I believe this will help Rugby League in the future.”

Copley echoed the sentiments of his fellow Director appointees, while also outlining the opportunity this position provides him to continue his personal development.

“I’ve really enjoyed being part of the Player Advisory Group this year and engaging consistently with the RLPA during my time as a Player Delegate,” Copley said.

“It has allowed me to increase my understanding and appreciation for the role of our Association, while also being able to provide genuine feedback on some of the key issues in the game.

“The responsibility associated with the role of a Director is something that I’m fully committed to delivering on as I’m passionate about ensuring the RLPA continues to provide a valuable service to its members.”

The RLPA Constitution allows for the appointment of casual vacancies by the Board with formal election by the members taking place at the Annual General Meeting – which will be held in early 2020.

James Maloney’s and Jeremy Latimore’s terms as Directors will formally expire at the next AGM, in accordance with the RLPA Constitution.


Deidre Anderson – Chair

Ian Prendergast – CEO and Managing Director

Daly Cherry-Evans – Director

Dale Copley – Director

Wade Graham – Director

Jeremy Latimore – Director (term will expire at the next AGM)

Pippa Leary – Director

James Maloney – Director (term will expire at the next AGM)

Nimesh Shah – Director

Sia Soliola – Director

Joel Thompson – Director

Cameron Smith – General President

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.