You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jordan Rapana wins 2021 Meninga Medal

Jordan Rapana has capped off a strong individual season for the club, by winning the 2021 Meninga Medal.

The Meninga Medal is awarded annually to the club’s best player, with voting for the top honour conducted by the players and football staff weekly on a 3-2-1 basis.

Rapana’s final tally of 21 votes saw him awarded the club’s highest individual honour, edging out four-time winner of the award Josh Papalii (15 votes), Ryan Sutton (14 votes), Joe Tapine (13 votes) and Tom Starling (11 votes).

It’s been a remarkable season for the Raiders winger, with a shift to fullback late in the season seeing him pick up several votes with a string of man of the match performances.

Tom Starling was awarded the club's Coaches award for a strong and consistent season, while the club’s rookie of the year award was shared by Harley Smith-Shields and Matt Timoko.

Both Smith-Shields and Timoko were rewarded for their efforts over the past two COVID-affected seasons, with both players debuting in 2020 but playing more NRL matches during 2021.

The Fred Daly Memorial Club Person of the year was awarded to trainer Grant Hogan, for his tireless efforts and contributions towards the club. Grant’s work behind the scenes for the club does not go unnoticed and his attention to detail and assistance during the team’s relocation to Queensland has been first class.

Elliott Whitehead was awarded the Geoff Caldwell Welfare and Education award for his study for a Certificate IV in Elite Wellbeing and Certificate IV in Career Development.

Trey Mooney was awarded the Gordon McLucas Memorial Junior Representative player of the year for his fantastic season at SG Ball and NSW Cup levels. Trey has also been part of the Raiders NRL squad this season.

Despite the season being cut short due to the COVID situation in NSW, Kai O’Donnell was named the NSW Cup Player of the year for the Raiders, with Matt Frawley named the winner of the Coaches Award for NSW Cup.

2021 Meninga Medal Award Winners

NSW Cup Player of the Year – Kai O’Donnell

NSW Cup Coaches Award – Matt Frawley

Geoff Caldwell Welfare & Education Award – Elliott Whitehead

Gordon McLucas Memorial Junior Representative Player of the Year - Trey Mooney

Fred Daly Memorial Club Person of the Year – Grant Hogan

NRL Rookie of the Year – Harley Smith-Shields & Matt Timoko

NRL Coaches Award – Tom Starling

Meninga Medal – Jordan Rapana

Meninga Medal Top 5

21 Votes – Jordan Rapana

15 Votes – Josh Papalii

14 Votes – Ryan Sutton

13 Votes – Joe Tapine

11 Votes – Tom Starling

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.