You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Congratulations to Ron Leapai of the Goulburn City Bulldogs for his selection at second row in the 2022 Canberra Raiders Cup Team of the Year.

Leapai made a successful return to the Canberra Raiders Cup after two seasons away in Group 9, being Goulburn's biggest signing in the 2021 offseason.

Ron made his mark known straight away after leading the Bulldogs to a 3-0 start, scoring three tries in the process.

Leapai is a damaging back-rower with a powerful fend and strong ball-playing skills, always proving to be a handful for opposing left-edge defences.

Goulburn co-coaches Tyson Greenwood and Adam McLaurie made the mid-season positional switch to move Ron into the middle where the star forward continued to play consistent footy while increasing his workload.

Leapai finished fourth in the 2022 McIntyre Medal voting this season, polling a staggering 14 votes in his first season back in the Canberra Raiders Cup.

Goulburn will look to bounce-back next season after a disappointing finish, announcing the return of local talents Mitch and Tyler Cornish, who last took the club to a Canberra Raiders Cup Grand Final in 2019.


Team of the Year 2022:

1. Mathew Parsons

2. Brandon Withers

3. Jake Butler-Fleming

4. Ryley Thomas

5. Kieran Reilly

6. Terry Campese

7. Robert Roberts

8. Zac Saddler

9. Liam Oakley

10. Manu Vanisi

11. Ron Leapai 

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.