You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2023 Les McIntyre Medal: Award Winners

The Canberra Region Rugby League celebrated the 2023 seniors season on Wednesday evening, coming together for the annual Les McIntyre Medal Presentation Night.

Queanbeyan Kangaroos captain-coach Sam Williams was awarded the 2023 Les McIntyre Medal for the Best & Fairest of the Canberra Raiders Cup First Grade competition. 

Gungahlin Bulls halfback Hollie Massey was presented the prestigious Maree Bush Medal, crowned the Best & Fairest of the Katrina Fanning Shield competition.

See below for the full list of award winners:

Les McIntyre Medal Ladder

22 points - Sam Williams (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

21 points - Matthew Woolnough (Belconnen United Sharks)

17 points - Mitchell Cornish (Goulburn City Bulldogs)

16 points - Mitchel Souter (Woden Valley Rams)

Williams has led his side to the minor premiership this season. The Roos now look to earn a trip straight to the Grand Final when they face Tuggeranong on Sunday.

See below for the full list of award winners: 

Canberra Raiders Cup First Grade

Les McIntyre Medalist: Sam Williams (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

Don Furner Snr Coach of the Year: Sam Williams (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

Leading Points Scorer: Sam Williams (Queanbeyan Kangaroos) 

Leading Try Scorer: Jack Davison (Tuggeranong Bushrangers) 

Special Awards

Noel Bissett Trophy: Andrew Nightingale

Hewson/Stonham Medal: Xavier Cacciotti (Woden Valley Rams)

Monaro Women's Best & Fairest: Krystal Blackwell (Goulburn City Bulldogs) 

George Tooke Shield Rep Player of the Year: Luke Colquhoun (Bungendore Tigers) 

GTS League Tag Rep Player of the Year: Jayde Della (Crookwell Green Devils)

NSW Wheelchair RL Recognition: Chris O'Brien, Toby Popple, and Zac Carl

Canberra Raiders Cup Reserve Grade

Leedon Shield Best & Fairest: Cody Smith (Gungahlin Bulls)

Reserve Grade Coach of the Year: Benjamin Flynn (Gungahlin Bulls) 

Leading Points Scorer: Blake Morschel (Gungahlin Bulls)

Leading Try Scorer: Lachlan Armstrong (Gungahlin Bulls)

Katrina Fanning Shield Tier 1

Maree Bush Best & Fairest Medal: Hollie Massey (Gungahlin Bulls)

Graham Willard Coach of the Year: Duncan Gray (Goulburn City Bulldogs)

Leading Points Scorer: Kaitlyn Andrews (Yass Magpies)

Leading Try Scorer: Caitlin Turnbull (Gungahlin Bulls)

Katrina Fanning Shield Tier 2

Best & Fairest Medal: Payge-Louise Condon (Queanbeyan Blues)

KFS Tier 2 Coach of the Year: Paul Lewis & Kristy Brown (Harden Worhawks)

Leading Points Scorer: Briony Frater (Queanbeyan Blues)

Leading Try Scorer: Emma Bayley (Harden Worhawks)

Under 19's

David Sharpe Best & Fairest Medal: Jye Rushton (West Belconnen Warriors)

Coach of the Year: Scott Ferris (Goulburn City Bulldogs)

Leading Points Scorer: Thomas Harmer (Goulburn City Bulldogs)

Leading Try Scorer: Peter Soward (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

Canberra Raiders Cup League Tag

Best & Fairest Medal: Keesha Kapea (Woden Valley Rams)

Coach of the Year: Patrick Lenane (Goulburn City Bulldogs) & Phil Davison (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)

Leading Points Scorer: Annie Croker (Goulburn City Bulldogs) 

Leading Try Scorer: Caitlin Turnbull (Gungahlin Bulls) & Keesha Kapea (Woden Valley Rams) 

George Tooke Shield

Gavin Miller Best & Fairest Medal: Peter Dunn (North Canberra Bears) 

Coach of the Year: Nicholas Hall (Harden Hawks) 

Leading Points Scorer: Dion Aramoana (Crookwell Green Devils) 

Leading Try Scorer: Steven Cummins (Crookwell Green Devils)

George Tooke Shield League Tag

Best & Fairest Medal: Georgia Smith (Harden Hawks)

Coach of the Year: Lauren Connell (Cootamundra Bulldogs)

Leading Points Scorer: Emma James (Harden Hawks) 

Leading Try Scorer: Georgia Smith (Harden Hawks) 

Club Champions

George Tooke Shield: Harden Hawks

Canberra Raiders Cup: Gungahlin Bulls 

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.