You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Rugby League celebrates 2023 award winners

Redcliffe Dolphins fullback Trai Fuller and Wynnum Manly Seagulls second rower Shaniah Power have today been recognised as the premier players in their respective competitions.

Fuller was announced as the recipient of the Petero Civoniceva Medal as the best and fairest player in the Hostplus Cup, while Power was presented with the Steph Hancock BMD Premiership Player of the Year.

Their achievements were celebrated by 350 guests who attended the QRL Awards lunch at Brisbane City Hall.

For Eidsvold Eagles junior Fuller, the medal capped off a breakthrough season for the electric speedster, who scored a brilliant try during his National Rugby League debut for The Dolphins last month.

Fuller finished the medal count on 22 points (adjudicated by the referees under a 3-2-1 points system), three clear of Central Queensland Capras hooker Trey Brown and Burleigh Bears halfback Guy Hamilton.

Papua New Guinea Hunters fullback Morea Morea (18) and Souths Logan Magpies fullback Tristan Sailor (17) rounded out the top five.

In the BMD Premiership, Power was a constant threat to opposing teams throughout the regular season and finals series.

Power earned points in five consecutive premiership matches to finish on 11 points, one clear of Burleigh Bears star Zahara Temara.

Shenae Ciesiolka (Norths Devils) and Emma Manzelmann (Mackay Cutters) received eight points each.   

Today’s awards brought together players, coaches, administrators, volunteers and referees across QRL statewide competitions, community leagues and Queensland representative programs.

Other major awards within the QRL statewide competitions included the naming of the Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year and the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year.

Brisbane Tigers fullback Lachlan West was a runaway winner in the Colts, while Townsville Blackhawks forward Jamal Shibasaki finished two points clear of Wynnum Manly’s Coby Black in the Meninga Cup.

The Souths Logan Magpies had plenty to celebrate, with Karmichael Hunt (Hostplus Cup) and Maia Tua-Davidson (BMD Premiership) announced as the premier coaches.

The Magpies also had players named in the Hostplus Cup Team of the Year and BMD Premiership Team of the Year (full list below).

The 2023 awards celebrated the community rugby league family, with guests treated to some stunning video tributes that highlighted the immense contribution made by participants and volunteers across Queensland. 

A red-hot field of players were in the mix for State of Origin awards within the QRL representatives program, following series victories for the Queensland Maroons and Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons.

Queensland forward Reuben Cotter was presented with his first Ron McAuliffe Medal as the Maroons’ players’ player, while Lindsay Collins was announced as the recipient of the FOGS Peter Jackson Memorial Award.

The prestigious FOGS award is a long-standing honour that recognises a player or staff member who epitomises the famous Queensland ‘spirit’.

The equivalent in the women’s Origin is the Renae Kunst Medal, which this year went to tenacious halfback Temara.

The Annie Banks Medal for Player of the Year was awarded to classy fullback Tamika Upton.

Queensland Rugby League awards

Petero Civoniceva Medal

Trai Fuller (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Steph Hancock BMD Premiership Player of the Year

Shaniah Power (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year

Lachlan West (Brisbane Tigers)

Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year

Jamal Shibasaki (Townsville Blackhawks)

Hostplus Cup Rookie of the Year

Morea Morea (Papua New Guinea Hunters)

Hostplus Cup Coach of the Year

Karmichael Hunt (Souths Logan Magpies)

Hostplus Cup Leading Points Scorer

Josh Rogers (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Hostplus Cup Leading Try Scorer

Jonathon Reuben (Norths Devils)

BMD Premiership Coach of the Year

Maia Tua-Davidson (Souths Logan Magpies)

BMD Premiership Rookie of the Year

Destiny Mino-Sinapati (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

BMD Premiership Leading Points Scorer

Zahara Temara (Burleigh Bears)

BMD Premiership Leading Try Scorer

Kalisi Longopoa (Souths Logan Magpies)

Hostplus Cup Team of the Year

Fullback - Tristan Sailor (Souths Logan Magpies)

Winger - Jordan Pereira (Souths Logan Magpies)

Centre - Deine Mariner (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Five-eighth - Josh Rogers (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Halfback - Jack Campagnolo (Souths Logan Magpies)

Prop - Bailey Butler (Central Queensland Capras)

Hooker -  Trey Brown (Central Queensland Capras)

Second rower - Jacob Alick (Burleigh Bears)

Lock -  Sam Coster (Burleigh Bears)

BMD Premiership Team of the Year

Fullback - Evania Pelite (Souths Logan Magpies)

Winger - Emily Bass (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Centre - Julia Robinson (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Five-eighth - Zahara Temara (Burleigh Bears)

Halfback - Ashleigh Quinlan (Burleigh Bears)

Prop - Dannii Perese (Burleigh Bears)

Hooker - Chante Temara (Burleigh Bears)

Second rower - Shaniah Power (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Lock - Shannon Mato (Mackay Cutters)

State of Origin awards

Ron McAuliffe Medal

Reuben Cotter

FOGS Peter Jackson Memorial Award

Lindsay Collins

Annie Banks Medal

Tamika Upton

Renae Kunst Medal

Zahara Temara

Wellbeing awards

Murray Hurst Education Award – male

Brent Woolf (Tweed Seagulls)

Murray Hurst Education Award – female

Dannii Perese (Burleigh Bears)


Community Coach of the Year

Zeke Field (Caboolture Snakes)

Auswide Bank Community Social Responsibility Program of the Year

Stanley River Junior Rugby League Club

XXXX Community Club of the Year

Zenadth Kes Rugby League

Shell V-Power Volunteer of the Year

Joe Pennisi (Herbert River Crushers)

Harvey Norman Contribution to the Female Game Award

Ana Fotu (Pine Central Holy Spirit)

Club Administrator of the Year

Jaz Burton (Pine Central Holy Spirit)

Community Match Official of the Year

Heath Zygnerski (Gold Coast Referees’ Association)

Young Person of the Year

Trinity Maclean (Brothers Ipswich / Ipswich Referees’ Association) & Douglas Brown (Dysart Bulls)


John Topp Medal

Adam Rossiter                            

Eddie Ward Medal

Ben Watts   



Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.