You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Maroons squad named for women’s Origin opener

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons head coach Tahnee Norris has today announced her squad for the historic opening game of the first ever three-match women’s State of Origin series.

The squad includes 16 players who took the field during the two-match series against the New South Wales Sky Blues last year.

Burleigh Bears utility Lauren Brown has also forced her way back into the maroon colours for the first time since 2022, while Sienna Lofipo, Skyla Adams and Makenzie Weale are now a step closer to making their Origin debuts after selection in the extended squad.

Lofipo and Adams were members of the Queensland Under 19 team that beat NSW last year, while Norths Devils talent Weale is again knocking on the door.

“Their selection showcases the strength of the BMD Premiership and our representative pathways, with these girls now getting the opportunity to step up into the senior Maroons squad,” Norris said.

“I’m really pleased with where we are at as a group. We’ve got a few players unavailable through injury, but otherwise we’ve stayed with a winning combination.”

The Maroons will assemble on the Gold Coast today for a short camp, before coming together again in Brisbane on Friday week to step up preparations for the May 16 opener at Suncorp Stadium.

“It's such a special event for our players,” Norris said of the Game I fixture.

“They don't get to play at Suncorp Stadium very often, so to play Game I of Origin in the first ever three-game series is exciting.”

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad

Name Club
Skyla Adams Souths Logan Magpies
Tarryn Aiken Tweed Seagulls
Emily Bass Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Ali Brigginshaw Western Clydesdales
Destiny Brill Souths Logan Magpies
Lauren Brown Burleigh Bears
Shenae Ciesiolka Western Clydesdales
Jessika Elliston Tweed Seagulls
Sophie Holyman Burleigh Bears
Keilee Joseph Souths Logan Magpies
Sienna Lofipo Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Emma Manzelmann Mackay Cutters
Shannon Mato Brisbane Tigers
Evania Pelite Souths Logan Magpies
Tazmin Rapana Burleigh Bears
Julia Robinson Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Romy Teitzel Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Zahara Temara Burleigh Bears
Tamika Upton Central Queensland Capras
Makenzie Weale  Norths Devils
Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.