You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Raiders and England forward Elliott Whitehead.

Canberra second-rower Elliott Whitehead and 2019 Raiders recruit John Bateman are among three English players added to the long-list for the Rugby League International Federation Golden Boot award.

Penrith's Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, the Kiwis captain and fullback, and Warriors playmaker Shaun Johnson are also in contention for the prestigious award presented to the player who has produced the most outstanding performances in international games since last year's World Cup final.

England winger Tommy Makinson, who plays for Super League club St Helens, has also been added to the final list which includes five players named last week from Australia and Tonga.

England's 18-16 win over the Kiwis in the first Test in Hull last weekend would only have helped their players' chances.

Kangaroos captain Boyd Cordner, his Sydney Roosters team-mate James Tedesco and Cronulla star Valentine Holmes are the Australian players nominated.

Mate Ma'a Tonga forward Siosiua Taukeiaho is the third Roosters player in contention for the Golden Boot. Tonga and North Queensland superstar Jason Taumalolo completes the list.

Roosters and Jillaroos star Isabelle Kelly.
Roosters and Jillaroos star Isabelle Kelly. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

England's Georgia Roche has been added to the list of candidates for the RLIF Women's Golden Boot award after an impressive debut in last weekend’s 54-4 defeat of France in Carcassonne.

Roche, who has also been nominated for the prestigious BBC young sports personality of the year, joins New Zealand and St George Illawarra star Honey Hireme and Australians Isabelle Kelly (Roosters), Ali Brigginshaw and Brittany Breayley (both Brisbane) on the long-list.

It is the first time there will be a Golden Boot award for the best player in thewomen's game.

The judging panel, drawn from the rugby league media in both hemispheres, will meet again after the November 4th Test between England and New Zealand at Anfield to select the final short-lists.

The panel comprises BBC commentator Dave Woods, renowned journalist Steve Mascord, rugby league filmmaker (Power Meri) and Pacific specialist Joanna Lester, Rugby League Express managing editor Martyn Sadler and senior reporter Brad Walter.

The RLIF Golden Boot 2018 will be awarded to the winners at a special dinner at Elland Road, Leeds on November 7.

Last year's Golden Boot winner was former Australian captain Cameron Smith, who announced his representative retirement on the eve of this year's State of Origin series.

Smith will be among the playershonoured by the RLIF for more than 50 international appearances for their countries.

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.