You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Representative Team News: Great Britain name team

Hall and Gildart head home from Great Britain Rugby League Lions tour Great Britain winger Ryan Hall and centre Oliver Gildart will head home from the Lions tour in New Zealand after both were ruled out through injury.

Gildart, 23, dislocated his shoulder in the opening tour game against the Tonga Invitational XIII but has remained in camp as part of the squad for the last ten days but with the team relocating to Christchurch on Wednesday ahead of Saturday’s clash with New Zealand, he will now fly home to Wigan to continue his treatment ahead of the new Betfred Super League.

Hall, 31, suffered a subluxation of his left patella five minutes from the end of Saturday’s narrow defeat to the Kiwis in Auckland.

He has returned to Sydney to continue his recovery with his club side, Sydney Roosters.

The Great Britain squad were already without Sam Burgess, Tommy Makinson, Mark Percival, Luke Gale, Kallum Watkins, Stevie Ward, Morgan Knowles and James Roby through injury before the tour departed.

The Lions management have opted not to bring any replacement players into the squad.

Head Coach Wayne Bennett commented, “We have every faith in the ability of the players within our squad to get the job done. It is disappointing for Ryan and Oliver that they have had to leave the tour through injury.”

Great Britain have had good news on prop Luke Thompson who returned to training on Tuesday after suffering a rib injury against Tonga.

He has been included in Wayne Bennett’s 21 man squad for Saturday’s Test in Christchurch with Jack Hughes named in the initial squad at centre with Zak Hardaker reverting to the wing. Hughes was made co-captain of Warrington Wolves in 2019, helping the club to victory at Wembley against St Helens in the Challenge Cup as a second row.

The 27-year-old, who captained the England Knights in 2018 on their tour to Papua New Guinea, began his career as a centre and has played the position for Wigan and Warrington during his career.

The 21 man squad in full is:

1. Jonny Lomax (Orrell St James, St Helens)

2. Jermaine McGillvary (Deighton Juniors, Huddersfield Giants)

3. Jack Hughes (Golborne Parkside, Warrington Wolves)

4. Jake Connor (Siddal, Hull FC)

5. Zak Hardaker (Featherstone Lions, Wigan Warriors)

6. Gareth Widdop (Kings Cross, St George Illawarra Dragons)

7. Jackson Hastings (Western Suburbs Red Devils, Salford Red Devils)

8. Chris Hill (New Springs Lions, Warrington Wolves)

9. Josh Hodgson (East Hull, Canberra Raiders)

10. Tom Burgess (Dewsbury Moor, South Sydney Rabbitohs)

11. John Bateman (Bradford Dudley Hill, Canberra Raiders)

12. Elliott Whitehead (West Bowling, Canberra Raiders)

13. James Graham (c) (Thatto Heath, St George Illawarra Dragons)

14. Josh Jones (Blackbrook, Salford Red Devils)

15. Joe Philbin (Culcheth Eagles, Warrington Wolves)

16. Daryl Clark (Fryston Warriors, Warrington Wolves)

17. Alex Walmsley (Dewsbury Celtic, St Helens)

18. Blake Austin (Doonside Roos, Warrington Wolves)

19. George Williams (Wigan St Patricks, Canberra Raiders)

20. Luke Thompson (Bold Miners, St Helens)

21. Lachlan Coote (Windsor Wolves, St Helens)

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.