You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
George Tooke Shield rep games return

CRRL are happy to announce the return of George Tooke Shield representative matches, with two games set to be played next weekend.

A GTS Ladies League Tag team and a Men's team will take on Woodbridge Cup representative sides on Saturday 15 May.  

It will be the first GTS Men's rep team since 2000. 

Tony Rayner, the George Tooke Shield representative on the CRRL board, says he is excited the games are happening again.

"I was actually surprised at all the enthusiasm from all the players. They are all keen to get involved and play," Rayner said. 

"It's really important and it will be good to show everyone how strong our competition is."

The Woodbridge Cup team will include players from the Riverina and Group 10.

CRRL General Manager Mark Vergano says that it is a great opportunity for the players involved. 

"It's wonderful to see the GTS rep games back on the footy calendar this year," Vergano said.

"It's a great opportunity for all the players that play in the George Tooke Shield to play at a higher level and test themselves against the best players from other regions. 

"These are the first steps towards hopefully more games in the future."

In the past, League Tag representative teams from George Tooke Shield, Canberra Raiders Cup and Group 16 would compete in a tri-series each year. Players no longer have this opportunity, so this upcoming rep game serves as an important opportunity for the Tag players too. 

Both matches will be played at McLean Oval in Harden on Saturday 15 May, with the League Tag match to kick off at 1:15pm and the Men's match to follow at 2:30pm. 

Training for the Men's side will be on Wednesday May 5 and May 12 at Walker Park, Yass at 6:30pm

GTS Ladies League Tag representative squad list

Mackella PYE - Boorowa Roverettes

Ellie SHOOBERT - Bungendore Tigerettes

Kody-Leigh MCGLONE - Bungendore Tigerettes

Samantha GRAHAM - Cootamundra Bulldogs

Maddison GILLIES - Cootamundra Bulldogs

Kristen BYRNE - Cootamundra Bulldogs

Jayde DELLA - Crookwell She Devils

Annie CROKER - Crookwell She Devils

Emma JAMES (c) - Harden Hawkettes

Ciare SMITH - Harden Hawkettes

Georgia SMITH - Harden Hawkettes

Grace SMITH - Harden Hawkettes

Abbie GRANT - Harden Hawkettes

Bridie MINEHAN - Harden Hawkettes

Marylouise MINEHAN - Harden Hawkettes

Coach: Jason Pollard

GTS Men's representative squad list

Jayden CUTTING - Boorowa Rovers

Austin POWER - Boorowa Rovers

Jamie MORGAN - Boomanulla Raiders 

Jack BRAMLEY - Bungendore Tigers

Brad LAURENT - Bungendore Tigers

Jack EDWARDS - Bungendore Tigers

Jordyn BALLARD - Cootamundra Bulldogs

Haydn COWLED - Cootamundra Bulldogs

Johnathon POUONO - Harden Hawks

Patrick SMITH - Harden Hawks

Chris THORLEY - North Canberra Bears

Jacob BINK - North Canberra Bears

Hamza QUZAG - North Canberra Bears 

Tino SIONE - North Canberra Bears 

Kerosome SIONE - North Canberra Bears


Jonathon IEROME-MOSE - UC Stars

Coach: Zach Smith

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.