You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Canberra Region Wheelchair Rugby League are pleased to announce our Rolling Raiders representative team, heading to Shellharbour this weekend for their first tournament game of the year.

The team will be playing in Raiders jerseys to represent the Canberra region at this representative level, comprised of some of the best players from the CRWRL.

Our Rolling Raiders team consists of former City player Brad Burns, who will be bringing his representative game experience to the team, as well as the talented, speedy boys from Wagga, Jaimz Knight, Luke Patterson, Zac Carl and the team’s captain Toby Popple.

The team also stars some new local talent from the Canberra region, Amanda Carlyon, Brigid Baker, Matthew Harden, Chris O'Brien and Mick Skerry, who have all improved out of sight through our local competition. Kale Popple will serve as the team's referee, and as a reserve player. 

Coaching our Rolling Raiders will be Brad Grove, who has previously captained the Australian Wheelaroos team in 2011 and 2013 and also plays in the NSW Origin team. Brad will be a representative player for the Country team on Saturday in the Country v City match prior to our game.  

The match will commence at 11:20am at Shellharbour City Stadium, this Saturday 15 May. The Rolling Raiders will be taking on a development team from the Sydney second tier competition.

The game prior to the Rolling Raiders’ match is the Country v City game, in which the NSW State of Origin wheelchair rugby league team will be selected.

The game gives the CRWRL a chance to announce its presence in the community of Wheelchair Rugby League, and prove its capabilities in the development and growth of the game.

We wish the team all the best.

For more information on our local wheelchair rugby league competition and upcoming events, please email Wheelchair rugby league is an all-inclusive sport, for all ages, genders, and abilities – for non-regular wheelchairs and regular wheelchair users.

Team List:

Bradley Burns (1)

Amanda Carlyon (2)

Zac Carl (3)

Jaimz Knight (4)

Luke Patterson (6)

Matthew Harden (7)

Brigid Baker (8)

Toby Popple (9)

Chris O’Brien (10)

Kale Popple (11)

Mick Skerry (13)

Team Officials:

Coach: Brad Grove

Manager: Jen Pilosio

Referee: Kale Popple

Team Support: Jimmy Meiklejohn

Captain: Toby Popple

Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.