You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
As it happened: 2022 Dally M Awards

See all the action from rugby league's night of nights, the 2022 Dally M Awards, which were held in Sydney on Wednesday night.


9.20pm: The winner is .... Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes has capped a magnificent season by taking home the game's highest individual honour, the 2022 Dally M Medal. Hynes polled 38 votes, the highest tally by an individual player in the history of the award. "I just came here expecting to have a good night and catch up with some friends," Hynes said. "I'd probably rather be playing in the Grand Final but this is the next best thing."

Hynes polled 38 votes to finish five clear of Roosters skipper James Tedesco on 33 with Dragons captain Ben Hunt third on 32. Cowboys fullback Scott Drinkwater and Panther Dylan Edwards were next on 23 votes.

9.18pm: The NRLW Dally M Medal winner for 2022 is Raecene McGregor from the Sydney Roosters. "I'm really grateful to receive this award so thank you very much," McGregor said. "I'm really proud and thankful to the Roosters for picking me up and giving me the opportunity to play for this wonderful club."

2022 Dally M NRLW Player of the Year - Raecene McGregor

9.15pm: The Teams of the Year are in for both the NRL and NRLW. The Roosters and Panthers have three players each in the NRL Team of the Year.

Fullback — James Tedesco (Roosters)
Winger — Joseph Suaalii (Roosters)
Winger — Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs)
Centre — Joseph Manu (Roosters)
Centre — Valentine Holmes (Cowboys)
Five-Eighth — Cameron Munster (Storm)
Halfback — Nicho Hynes (Sharks)
Prop — Payne Haas (Broncos)
Prop — Joseph Tapine (Raiders)
Hooker — Apisai Koroisau (Panthers)
Second Row — Viliame Kikau (Panthers)
Second Row — Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys)
Lock — Isaah Yeo (Panthers)

The NRLW Team of the Year features six members of the Roosters team that went through the regular season unbeaten.

Fullback — Sam Bremner (Roosters)
Winger — Teagan Berry (Dragons)
Winger — Jaime Chapman (Broncos)
Centre — Isabelle Kelly (Roosters)
Centre — Jessica Sergis (Roosters)
Five-Eighth — Tarryn Aiken (Broncos)
Halfback — Raecene McGregor (Roosters)
Prop — Caitlan Johnston (Knights)
Prop — Millie Boyle (Knights)
Hooker — Keeley Davis (Dragons)
Second Row — Keilee Joseph (Roosters)
Second Row — Olivia Kernick (Roosters)
Lock — Simaima Taufa (Eels)

9.10pm: The votes are in for Round 20 and 21 in the NRL and Cronulla's Nicho Hynes has the Dally M lead on 32 votes, five votes of James Tedesco on 27, Ben Hunt on 25, Dylan Edwards 23 and Mitch Moses 21. 

9.05pm: After Round 3 of the NRLW, Knights fullback Tamika Upton and Roosters halfback Raecene McGregor lead the Dally M count on 6 votes from Bronco Tarryn Aiken on 5 votes and Roosters pair Sam Bremner and Isabelle Kelly on 4 votes.

9.00pm: The Dally M Coach of the Year in the NRL is Todd Payten from the North Queensland Cowboys, who took his side from 15th in 2021 all the way to a Preliminary Final. "I'm accepting this award sitting on the shoulders of so many people inside and outside the club," said Payten, who thanked his own wife and the wives and partners of every player in the NRL.

9.00pm: The NRLW Dally M Coach of the Year is John Strange from the Sydney Roosters. "This is an obvious reflection of the players you coach and I was lucky enough to coach 24 awesome girls this year," Strange said.

8.55pm: As we get closer to announcing the winner of the 2022 Dally M Medal the leaderboard after Round 19 shows Nicho Hynes on top on 26 votes from Ben Hunt 25, James Tedesco 21, Nathan Cleary 20, Dylan Edwards 20, Daly Cherry-Evans 19, Isaah Yeo 18, Adam Reynolds 18 and Mitch Moses 18.

8.40pm: The Dally M votes are in after Round 2 of the NRLW season with Raecene McGregor, Jesse Southwell, Tamika Upton, Emma Tonegato, Isabelle Kelly and Keeley Davis leading the way on 3 votes.

2022 Dally M Captain of the Year - Isaah Yeo

8.40pm: The NRL Dally M Captain of the Year for 2022 is Penrith's Isaah Yeo, who will lead his team into the Grand Final on Sunday against the Eels. "Nathan and I captain a super side that makes our job so easy," Yeo said.

The NRLW Dally M Captain of the Year is the Roosters' Isabelle Kelly, who led her team through an undefeated regular season. "This is the first year I have had the privilege of leading the Roosters so this is super special to me," Kelly said.

8.35pm: The Provan Summons Medal Spirit of the Game Award for 2022 in the NRL has been won by Cronulla's Nicho Hynes for helping to raise awareness about mental health after Paul Green's passing.

The Provan Summons Medal Spirit of the Game Award in the NRLW has been won by Brisbane's Toni Hunt who continued to remain part of the club after being diagnosed with cancer this year.

8.30pm: After Round 17 the Dally M Medal count has Nicho Hynes leading the way on 23 votes with Ben Hunt second on 22 votes followed by Isaah Yeo on 18, Mitch Moses 18, Nathan Cleary 17 and Daly Cherry-Evans on 16.

8.25pm: After the opening round of the NRLW season the Dally M voting showed Rooster Isabelle Kelly, Knight Jesse Southwell and Dragon Emma Tonegato on 3 votes with Teagan Berry, Millie Boyle and Sam Bremner on 2 votes and Quincy Dodd, Caitlan Johnston and Simaima Taufa on 1 vote.

2022 Dally M Rookie of the Year - Jeremiah Nanai

8.20pm: Cowboys star Jeremiah Nanai has been voted the Dally M Rookie of the Year after a stunning season which saw him score 17 tries in 23 games and make his State of Origin debut for the Maroons.

8.15m: The NRLW Rookie of the Year is Jesse Southwell from the Newcastle Knights. The 17-year-old has played all five games for the Knights and enjoyed a stunning season to help them into the Grand Final.

8.15pm: The Dally M Medal count updated after Round 15 sees Dragons halfback Ben Hunt leading the way on 22 votes from Shark Nicho Hynes on 21, Panther Isaah Yeo on 17, Dylan Edwards 16, James Tedesco 15, Mitch Moses 15 and Ryan Papenhuyzen 15.

7.45pm: Cowboys fullback Scott Drinkwater's try off Murray Taulagi's remarkable flick pass in Magic Round has won the Drinkwise Try of the Year in the NRL.

Drinkwater's Magic Round miracle wins try of the year

Bronco Tarryn Aiken finished off a long-range special in Round 2 of the NRLW against the Roosters to take home the NRLW Try of the Year.

Aiken's long-range effort wins NRLW try of the year

Eels halfback Mitch Moses' front-on shot on Storm forward Kenny Bromwich in Round 26 has been voted the Youi Tackle of the Year in the NRL.

Mitchell Moses' hit on Bromwich voted tackle of the year

Bronco Tarryn Aiken also produced the Tackle of the Year in the NRLW with a magnificent cover tackle on Roosters centre Jess Sergis.

Aiken also nabs tackle of the year


7.15pm: The nominees have been announced for the prestigious Ken Stephen Medal and Veronica White Medal, with the winners to be announced on Grand Final day at Accor Stadium.

Cody Walker (Rabbitohs), Nicho Hynes (Sharks), Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Cowboys) and Angus Crichton (Roosters) are the nominees for the Ken Stephen Medal, which recognises the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field, but has committed time off the field to community projects.

Steph Hancock (Titans), Millie Boyle (Knights) and Kennedy Cherrington (Eels) are the nominees for the Veronica White Medal, which recognises the efforts of an NRLW player who has not only achieved on the field, but has committed time off the field to community projects.


Acknowledgement of Country

Canberra Raiders respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.